Ken Kennedy Institute graduate fellowship program awards $65,000

Ken Kennedy Institute graduate fellowship program awards $65,000

The 2019-20 recipients, their fellowships and the amounts are:

  • Nidish Narayanaa Balaji, mechanical engineering: Kennedy-Cray, $7,500
  • Randall Balestriero, electrical and computer engineering (ECE): BP, $7,500
  • Ao Cai, earth, environmental and planetary sciences: Shell, $7,500
  • Mae Markowski, computational and applied mathematics (CAAM): Shell, $7,500
  • Afsaneh Rahbar, computer science (CS): Andrew Ladd, $5,000
  • Thomas Roddenberry, ECE: AMD, $7,500
  • Christina Taylor, CAAM: BP, $7,500
  • Keren Zhou, CS: ExxonMobil, $7,500
  • Ye Emma Zohner, statistics: Schlumberger, $7,500

Recipients use fellowship awards to further research pursuits, attend conferences, travel, and develop networking relationships. Many past recipients have spent summers as research interns with sponsoring companies and several work in industry.

With the support of industry and the conference, the Ken Kennedy Institute has awarded almost $1.2 million to more than 135 students since 2002. The graduate fellowships are supported by AMD, BP, ExxonMobil, Schlumberger, and Shell as well as from the Andrew Ladd and Kennedy-Cray endowments.





The Rice Ken Kennedy Institute is located on the campus of Rice University inside Duncan Hall. Click the map below for directions.

Rice Map


Rice University
Ken Kennedy Institute
6100 Main Street, MS-39
Houston, Texas 77005


Phone: 713-348-5823

Subscribe to our Newsletter.